

MINUTES

GENERAL COUNCIL MEETING HEARING AND ELECTION OF THE RECTOR OF THE U.PORTO 30 April 2014

On the thirtieth day of April 2014, at 6 p.m., the following members of the General Council met in the Rectorate's *Sala do Conselho* of the University of Porto, at Praça Gomes Teixeira, Porto: Alfredo de Sousa, Altamiro da Costa Pereira, António Felino, António Sarmento, Artur Águas, Carlos Afonso, Gabriel David, Isabel Menezes, José Fernando de Oliveira, José Manuel Amarante, Manuel Matos Fernandes, Maria de Fátima de Oliveira, Raul Vidal, Daniel Freitas, Francisco Silva, Joana Magalhães, Pedro Ferreira, Fátima Lisboa, Bento Domingues, José Pacheco Pereira, Maria João Vasconcelos and Paul Symington.

The meeting was convened by the President of the General Council with the following agenda:

Sole Item – Hearing and Election of the Rector

The hearing of Rectoral candidates was carried out in the chronological order in which the applications were received:

9.30 a.m. - Rajesh Shamsunder Arora

11.30 a.m. - Sebastião José Cabral Feyo de Azevedo

2.30 p.m. - António Fernando Sousa da Silva

4.30 p.m. - João Manuel de Frias Viegas Proença

Each candidate was heard individually without the presence of the other candidates and had thirty minutes to present their programme, followed by a sixty-minute period of questions and answers put forward by the Members of the General Council.

The *Salão Nobre* of the Rectorate was open to all those interested in following the hearings, admission being limited only to the capacity of the room. The *Sala do Fundo Antigo* was also available to the public to follow the session via video broadcasting of the event.

At the same time, the hearings were broadcasted through live streaming on TVU (www.tv.up.pt).

After the meeting was called to order, the President of the General Council greeted the members present and then put the following proposal to the vote, pursuant to Article 12(1) of the Regulation on the Election of the Rector of the U.Porto:

 If in the first round the most voted candidate cannot be elected and there is a tie between the remaining candidates, one of these candidates shall be voted to run in a second round against the candidate who received the most votes.

The President's proposal was unanimously approved.

The next step was to elect the candidate for the post of Rector of the U.Porto.

After the voting, the Electoral Committee met and drew up the minutes, attached herewith, which were submitted and unanimously approved by the Members of the General Council.

The candidate Sebastião José Cabral Feyo de Azevedo was elected Rector of the University of Porto in the second round of voting by a majority of 13 (thirteen) votes.

Pursuant to the provisions of Article 34(2) of the Statutes of the University of Porto, approved by Legislative Order 18-B/2009 and published in *Diário da República*, 2nd Series – No. 93 -14 May 2009, voting results will be communicated to the Board of Trustees for approval and the consequent appointment of Professor Sebastião José Cabral Feyo de Azevedo as the Rector of the University of Porto, for the 2014/2018 term of office, in accordance with the powers provided for in Article 92(c) of the Statutes of the Foundation, published in annex to Decree-law 96/2009, of 27 April. The Members of the General Council have decided that once the results are approved, they must be sent to this Council to be published in *Diário da República*.

The President of the General Council ordered the election results to be advertised as provided in the law and on the website of the University.

There being no further matter on the agenda, the meeting was closed at 7.30 p.m., and these minutes were drawn up and signed by the President and the Secretary of the General Council.

The President of the General Council of the U.Porto,

Judge Councillor Alfredo José de Sousa

The Secretary of the General Council,

Dr.ª Fátima Lisboa



MINUTES Meeting of the Electoral Committee 30 April 2014

On the thirtieth day of April 2014, at 6.30 p.m., the following members of the Electoral Committee of the Rectoral Election Process (2014-2018 term of office) met in the Rectorate's *Sala do Conselho* of the University of Porto: Alfredo de Sousa, Carlos Afonso, Gabriel David, José Manuel Amarante and Maria João Vasconcelos, and myself, Fátima Lisboa, as Secretary, in order to establish the voting results of the candidates for the post of Rector of the U.Porto.

Once the public hearing of candidates was completed, at 6 p.m. the members of the General Council met in the *Sala do Conselho*, at the Rectorate, to elect the next Rector of the University of Porto,

As the 22 (twenty two) members in office of the General Council were present, the President opened the meeting saying a few words of thanks to all the candidates, welcoming with satisfaction the quality of applications under assessment, in particular the high level of presentations and interventions in the public hearing.

Then, Fátima Lisboa, the Secretary of the General Council, began the roll call, by seating order, of the members of the General Council, who cast their individual votes by placing them in the ballot box. Once voting was finished, the voting results were established:

Number of electors: 22

Number of voters: 22

1st Round

Votes Cast: 22

Votes for candidate Rajesh Shamsunder Arora: 0

Votes for candidate Sebastião José Cabral Feyo de Azevedo: 10

Votes for candidate António Fernando Sousa da Silva: 8

Votes for candidate João Manuel de Frias Viegas Proenca: 4

Since no candidate received more than a half of the votes cast by the members present, a second round was held with the two most voted candidates (Sebastião José Cabral Feyo de Azevedo and Antonio Fernando Sousa da Silva):

2nd Round

Votes Cast: 22

Votes for candidate Sebastião José Cabral Feyo de Azevedo: 13

Votes for candidate António Fernando Sousa da Silva: 9

The candidate Sebastião José Cabral Feyo de Azevedo was elected Rector of the University of Porto in the second round of voting by a majority of 13 (thirteen) votes

There being no further matter on the agenda, the meeting was closed at 7.15 p.m., and these minutes were drawn up and signed by the Members of the Electoral Committee and myself, the Secretary, and submitted to the General Council, which unanimously approved it.

The President of the Electoral Committee

Judge Councillor Alfredo de Sousa

Professor Carlos Afonso, PhD

Professor Gabriel David, PhD

Professor José Manuel Amarante, PhD

Prof. Dr. Maria João Vasconcelos

The Secretary of the Electoral Committee

Prof. Dr. Fátima Lisboa