Go to:
Esta página em português Ajuda Autenticar-se
Projecto da Casa da U. Porto
You are here: Start > Courses/CE or Courses/Cycle of Studies or Programmes/Cycle of Studies > Doctoral Degree > PDEEC

Campus Map
Edifício A (Administração) Edifício B (Aulas) - Bloco I Edifício B (Aulas) - Bloco II Edifício B (Aulas) - Bloco III Edifício B (Aulas) - Bloco IV Edifício C (Biblioteca) Edifício D (CICA) Edifício E (Química) Edifício F (Minas e Metalurgia) Edifício F (Minas e Metalurgia) Edifício G (Civil) Edifício H (Civil) Edifício I (Electrotecnia) Edifício J (Electrotecnia) Edifício K (Pavilhão FCNAUP) Edifício L (Mecânica) Edifício M (Mecânica) Edifício N (Garagem) Edifício O (Cafetaria) Edifício P (Cantina) Edifício Q (Central de Gases) Edifício R (Laboratório de Engenharia do Ambiente) Edifício S (INESC) Edifício T (Torre do INEGI) Edifício U (Nave do INEGI) Edifício X (Associação de Estudantes)


Doctoral Program in Electrical and Computer Engineering

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (DEEC) of the Faculty of Engineering, University of Porto (FEUP) offers a Doctoral Programme in Electrical and Computer Engineering (PDEEC), covering the major areas of Electrical and Computer Engineering. A set of advanced mandatory and elective courses are offered during the first year, organized in two semesters. Typically the programme requires 8 courses of 7.5 ECTS, and advanced research work to be submitted and defended as a PhD thesis.

The research environment is composed of DEEC and the following research institutes associated with FEUP: INESC-Porto (Institute for Systems and Computer Engineering of Porto), ISR - Porto (Institute for Systems and Robotics - Porto), and INEB (Biomedical Engineering Institute).
FEUP and DEEC have on-going cooperation programmes with MIT, Carnegie-Mellow University and University of Texas at Austin.

PDEEC courses are organized in two semesters. The students typically select two main streams plus two other electives. Individual topics 1 and 2 are additional courses for starting the research work, and to prepare the thesis research plan under the supervision of a supervisor. The plan needs to be discussed and approved by a Supervisory Committee.

The courses offered by PDEEC are organized into the following streams, each one having two semester courses:
• ENMAR - Energy Markets
• PSDCO - Power system dynamics and control
• DICOM - Digital Communications
• COTEC - Communication technology
• SYCON - Systems and control
• DEHSY - Discrete event and hybrid systems
• COMPS - Computer Science
• SIPRO - Signal Processing
• IMRML - Image Recognition and Machine Learning
• MICRO - Microelectronics and Microsystems Operations
• TTDTE - Test Technology and Design for Testability
• OPRES - Operations Research


Pre-requisites for the courses in the streams: The two courses offered in one stream are offered in a sequence. Depending on the stream, the courses in the Spring semester may have pre-requisites on the material studied in the corresponding course in the Fall semester. Although there are no formal pre-requisites, the students before registering for the first time in the Spring semester should contact the PDEEC Scientific Committee to validate her/his registration.

Individual Topics: Individual Topics 1 and 2 are two special courses that prepare students to initiate their research work. During Individual Topics 1, students attend a set of technical and non-technical seminars together with a special topic under the supervision of a faculty member. Early in the semester, students must engage in conversations with the faculty and choose the thesis supervisor, who must be appointed by the Scientific Committee. During Individual Topic 2 with the help of the selected supervisor, students must define the scope and topic of the research. This typically consists in identifying the state-of-the-art material, and developing a research plan that must be submitted as a Thesis Research Plan (TRP).

Electives: Electives are optional courses. The students may select as an elective any course included in other streams or other courses offered by doctoral programmes in FEUP. Electives need to be approved by PDEEC Scientific Committee. If the student has already a supervisor, the electives should be approved by the supervisor and communicated to the Scientific Committee.

General information

Official Code: 5138
Director: José Silva Matos
Assistant Director: Aurélio Campilho
Acronym: PDEEC
Academic Degree: Doctor
Type of course/cycle of study: Doctoral Degree
Start: 2007/2008
Duration: 3 Years

Study Plan


  • Doctorate in Electrical and Computer Engineering (180 ECTS credits)
  • Advanced Studies (3rd cycle) in Electrical and Computer Engineering (60 ECTS credits)

Predominant Scientific Areas

Previous Courses/Cycles of Study

Recommend this page Top
Copyright 1996-2019 © Faculdade de Engenharia da Universidade do Porto  I Terms and Conditions  I Accessibility  I Index A-Z  I Guest Book
Last updated on: 2013-11-19 I  Page generated on: 2019-03-26 at 09:15:33